Week 7 recollections: from the macro to the micro

In between the news broadcasts that bandy about phrases such as “school improvement” , “teacher quality”, “educational disadvantage” and “Great Teaching, Inspired Learning”, another average week in a public secondary school has passed by.

Through this flow of language that is more an onslaught of words and opinions than meaningful dialogue, I have started to hear an underlying current of who the politicians and journalists claim to be speaking for. In the position of privilege that I have frequently found myself in, I am now straddling two worlds. I am that teacher with disadvantaged kids in the classroom. The teacher at a rural school. The teacher in their first few years in the profession. The teacher over whom they are arguing and speaking authoritatively about. They have claimed my voice and are using it as a billion-dollar football.

Over the next week I will be posting some recollections of small, albeit meaningful, events that littered my week 7, term 1 2013. Each day I will also take a step back from my own experiences and bring into the picture snippets from last Monday’s Q&A education debate between Peter Garrett and Christopher Pyne.

Leave a Reply

